• Leeds: 0113 2366300
  • Sheffield: 0114 2611700
  • Manchester: 0161 9806677
  • Doncaster: 01302 366999

Young Accountant of the Year

The strength and depth of exceptional accountancy and finance talent in the Yorkshire region is highlighted with the hugely popular Young Accountant of the Year annual awards.

The competition was established in 2000 and is run in conjunction with West Yorkshire Society of Chartered Accountants.  It recognises the best of the region’s accountants who are either training to be qualified or have been qualified for up to two years.

Potential winners can be nominated by their colleagues, peers or senior managers and will have to satisfy a number of criteria including exam record, leadership and initiative and work and technical competence as well as demonstrating to the judges that they bring an extra element of star quality to their role.  The awards are an ideal opportunity for employers to give thanks and recognition to hard-working and talented members of their teams.

Previous winners and runners-up of the coveted award have represented many of the region’s leading independent practices as well as national accountancy firms and some of Yorkshire’s top businesses and organisations.

Tim Moss of Grant Thornton has been named as the Young Accountant of the Year 2019 at a glittering awards ceremony held at the Royal Armouries.

Jack Sunter from Mazars was named runner-up with Tom Reid of Murray Harcourt claiming third spot. The other finalists were Callum Byers from Deloitte, Daryl Walsh from KPMG, Dale Smith from EY and Joseph Miller from PwC.


Entries for Young Accountant of the Year 2020 will open later in the year.

The previous winners of the Young Accountant of the Year title are:

  • Haydn Horner – 2018
  •  Catherine Fletcher – 2017
  • Georgina Taylor – 2016
  • Lisa Mason – 2015
  •  Charlotte Johnson – 2014
  •  Claire Mulholland – 2013
  • Meghan Gallagher – 2012
  • Rebecca Poad – 2011
  • Helen Brindley – 2010
  • Victoria Wilson – 2009
  • Claire Butterworth – 2008
  •  Alex Grieve – 2007

See what last years winner, Haydn Hornerof PwC has to say about the last 12 months since winning the title here. https://www.sharpconsultancy.com/5-minutes-with-2018-young-accountant-of-the-year-haydn-horner-pwc